The Conference Diaconal Committee met on 5 May 2023. The President took the Chair.

#### 1. Deacons who have died

The Committee approved the obituaries of Rosa Miriam Eleanor Boulton, Stella Mary Bullivant, Constance Lawson, Rita Adriana Savage.

#### 2. Candidates

2.1 The Committee recommended, with the required majority, acceptance by the Representative Session of the following candidates to proceed immediately into pre-ordination training:

James David Blackhall Vivian Chikaviro Helen Laura Cook Joanne Dolman Katrina Mary Anderson Paterson William David Topping

- 2.2 The Committee recommended, with the required majority, acceptance by the Representative Session of the following candidates to proceed to training upon the fulfilment of certain conditions: No case
- 2.3 The Committee noted the following deacons recommended by the Ministerial Candidates' Selection Committee for training for presbyteral ministry upon transfer from diaconal ministry: No case
- 2.4 The Committee noted the following accepted diaconal candidates recommended by the Ministerial Candidates' Selection Committee for training for presbyteral ministry: No case

#### 3. Transfer

The Committee adopted the recommendation by a 75% majority or more of the Ministerial Candidates' Selection Committee acting as Transfer Committee that the following applicants should be transferred to the jurisdiction of this Conference, as a probationer:

No case

#### 4. Training and probation

The Committee adopted the following special reports of the Ministerial Candidates and Probationers' Oversight Committee:

- 4.1 Candidates accepted at previous Conferences and given permission to delay entry into training No case
- 4.2 Candidates accepted at this Conference and to be given permission to delay entry into training No case
- 4.3 Candidates accepted at this Conference and to be given permission to transfer to another Conference No case
- 4.4 Candidates conditionally accepted at previous Conferences
  - (a) Those judged to have fulfilled the condition and therefore to be accepted as candidates
     No case
  - (b) Those judged to have failed to fulfil the condition and thereby not to be accepted as candidates No case
  - (c) Those still to fulfil the condition No case
- 4.5 Changes in expected date of Reception into Full Connexion
  - (a) To an earlier date No case
  - (b) To a later date Alison Hyde from 2023 to 2024
- 4.6 Deferment or suspension under SO 726
  - (a) Student deacons
    No case
  - (b) Probationers
    No case

- 4.7 Withdrawals under SO 727
  - (a) Candidates No case
  - (b) Student deacons
    No case
  - (c) Probationers
    No case
- 4.8 Transfer to other Conferences or Churches
  No case
- 4.9 Reinstatements under SO 761 No case
- 4.10 Discipline No case
- 4.11 Discontinuance under SO 031(4)
  No case

In the following lists:

- \* = change from the lists approved by the 2022 Conference
- + = candidates accepted by the 2022 Conference

Surname	First name(s)	Due to be received into Full Connexion
Amey	Janet	2024
+Brazier	Deborah Jane	2027
Chipandambira	Margaret	2024
Clark	Natalie Mary	2025
Da Silva Kaka	Adelha	2025
Gardner	Helen	2025
Grobler	Douw Gerbrand	2024

Surname	First name(s)	Due to be received into Full Connexion
*Hyde	Alison (Ali)	2024
Laycock	Judith Grace	2025
+Morris	Samantha Jane	2026
Poole	Marie	2024
Purfit	Clare	2024
Sale	Suzanne Marie	2024
Uwimana	Marcianne	2024
Welsh	Vicky Ann	2024
+Williams	Dorice (Doris)	2026

#### 5. Ordinands

The Committee recommended to the Representative Session of the Conference that the following are fit to be received into Full Connexion with the Conference as deacons and to be received into full membership of the Methodist Diaconal Order, and, if not already ordained, to be ordained:

Tessa Joanne Bennett Sarah Emily Hoe-Crook Sarah Pitkeathly Sarah Jane Rigby

#### 6. Permission to serve abroad

Marlene A Skuce

#### 7. Permission to reside abroad

Harriet P Bacon Ramona Dinard Bryanell Rop Gordon H Wallace

### 8. Deacons becoming supernumerary

(a) The Committee recommended to the Representative Session that the following deacons be permitted to become supernumerary:

Meredith Evans
Deborah Harkness
Belinda Letby
Myrtle Poxon
Annette Sharp
Anita Shaw
Carole Smith
Maureen Spinks
Terry Street
Janet Sutton
Anne Taylor

(b) Permissions granted during the year:

During the year, the President permitted the following deacons to become supernumerary on health grounds:

No case

All applications are made under SO 790(1), except those marked \* who are applying on grounds of ill health under SO 790(2).

See the Presbyters and Deacons Becoming Supernumerary or Returning to the Active Work section of the Agenda for the resolution to be presented to the Representative Session.

### 9. Resignations

No case

### 10. Annual Inquiry

The Warden of the Order gave to the President on behalf of the Convocation the assurances as to the character and discipline of the deacons and diaconal probationers required by SO 183.

#### \*\*\*RESOLUTIONS

52/1. The Conference receives the Report.

- 52/2. The Conference resolves, by a Standing Vote, that it accepts for training, unconditionally or conditionally as the case may be, the candidates for ministry recommended by the Diaconal Committee whose names are recorded in the report of that Committee.
- 52/3. The Conference adopts the report on diaconal students and probationers recommended for continuance in training or on probation as set out in section 4.
- 52/4. The Conference resolves by a Standing Vote that those persons whose names have been read to the Conference and are printed in the Agenda be now received into Full Connexion with the Conference as deacons and into full membership of the Methodist Diaconal Order, and, if not already ordained, to be ordained by prayer and the laying on of hands on the afternoon of this day, 25 June 2023, at Coventry Central Hall.