23. Methodist Schools Appointments

Contact name and details	Douglas Jones, Group Accountant and Company Secretary, Methodist Independent Schools Trust
	djones@methodistschools.org.uk

Summary of content

Subject and aims	Appointment of Methodist Independent Schools Trustees and governors to three Methodist Independent Associated Schools. Appointment of Methodist Academies and Schools Trustees.
Background context and relevant documents (with function)	The Conference is responsible for the appointment of Methodist Independent Schools Trustees and governors to the schools named in the resolutions. The Conference is responsible for the appointment of Methodist Academies and Schools Trustees.

Methodist Independent Schools Trust (MIST)

Appointment of Trustees to MIST and Governors to Associated Schools

Trustees of Methodist Independent Schools Trust are appointed by the Conference, normally for a three-year term. Nominations are made by the Trust, Chairs of Governors and the Methodist Council.

Under the Schemes relating to the administration of Ashville College, Kingswood School and Rydal Penrhos School, the Conference is responsible for the appointment of governors to their governing bodies.

Governors are nominated by the governing bodies and/or the Methodist Independent Schools Trust and are initially appointed for a period of three years. They may be reappointed for a further period.

***RESOLUTIONS

- 23/1. The Conference adopted the re-nomination by Methodist Council of Mrs Elaine Cleland as a Trustee the Methodist Independent Schools Trust for a period of three years concluding 31 August 2025.
- 23/2. The Conference adopted the nomination by Methodist Council of Mrs Henrietta Mbeah-Bankas as a Trustee of the Methodist Independent Schools Trust for a period of three years concluding 31 August 2025.
- 23/3. The Conference adopted the re-nomination by the Trustees of Mr Stephen Holliday as a Trustee of the Methodist Independent Schools Trust for a period of three years concluding 31 August 2025.
- 23/4. The Conference adopted the re-nomination by the Trustees of Mr Hugh Monro as a Trustee of the Methodist Independent Schools Trust for a period of three years concluding 31 August 2025.

Reasoned Statements - MIST

Mrs Henrietta Mbeah-Bankas

Health care professional with over seventeen years' experience in the mental health and nursing fields. Experience in delivering educational resources via technology. Member of the Methodist Church.

***RESOLUTION

23/5. The Conference adopted the re-nominations by the Governors of Mr Peter Whitely, Mrs Anne Vautrey, and Mrs Paula Jackman, and nominations of Mr Greg Styles, Mr John Wood and Mr Stephen Andrews as Governors of Ashville College for a period of three years concluding 31 August 2025.

Reasoned Statements - Ashville College

Mr Greg Styles

Mr Styles is Head of Retail Development and Advisory at Colliers and has over 30 years' experience in property and development. He brings to the Board of Ashville College significant experience in relation to both property and business management.

Mr John Wood

Mr Wood retired as Headteacher of St Aidan's CE High School (a 2,000-pupil state school in Harrogate) in August 2019 after 42 years working at the school, the latter 8 years as the Headteacher of the School. Mr Wood brings to the Board of Ashville College both a wealth of educational experience and deep insight into the local Harrogate school market.

Mr Stephen Andrews

Mr Andrews is a qualified accountant with 20 years' experience working within finance. He is currently the CFO of Systra, which is a £160m turnover business. Mr Andrews brings to the Board of Ashville College significant financial and commercial experience.

***RESOLUTION

23/6. The Conference adopted the nominations by the Governors of Mrs Jane Cooper, Mr Clive Wolfendale and Ms Debra Keogh as Governors of Rydal Penrhos School for a period of five years concluding 31 August 2027.

Reasoned Statement - Rydal Penrhos School

Mrs Jane Cooper

Mrs Cooper is a teacher in a large secondary school who has many years of senior leadership experience in education. She has a keen interest in school improvement and has served on the governing boards of a number of different schools.

Mr Clive Wolfendale

Following his retirement as Chief Constable of North Wales Police, Mr Wolfendale worked as chief executive of one of Wales' leading health and social care charities. He now sits on a number of charitable boards bringing to bear his special interests in organisational development and governance.

Ms Debra Keogh

Ms Keogh is a Primary specialist with 25 years' experience teaching in mainstream, independent and international schools. She is currently the Early Years leader in a large state school. She has been in senior leadership for over 20 years, specialising in Literacy and Early Years.

***RESOLUTIONS

- 23/7. The Conference adopted the nomination by the Methodist Council of the Revd Wilfred Robinson as a Trustee of the Methodist Academies and Schools Trust for a period of three years concluding 31 August 2025.
- 23/8. The Conference adopted the nomination by the Methodist Council of <u>Mr Steve</u>

 <u>Myers</u> as a Trustee of the Methodist Academies and Schools Trust for a period of three years concluding 31 August 2025.
- 23/9. The Conference adopted the re-nominations by the Methodist Council of Mrs Anne Bolton and Dr Christopher Stephens as a Trustees of the Methodist Academies and Schools Trust for a period of three years concluding 31 August 2025.

Reasoned Statement - Methodist Academies Schools Trust

The Revd Wilfred Robinson

Mr Robinson is a Superintendent Minister within the Bolton and Rochdale District. As a former Foundation Governor, he has vast experience in promoting and fostering the relationship between schools and the church. He has a keen interest in school chaplaincy and pastoral care of staff and pupils.

Mr Steve Myers

Current Chair of Governors at a Methodist School. Former member of the Wesley Trust and involved in the organisation of the Epworth Education Trust.

***RESOLUTION

23/10. The Conference adopted the nomination by the Trustees of Mr Anthony Harris as a Trustee of the Methodist Independent Schools Trust for a period of three years concluding 31 August 2025.

Reasoned Statement - Methodist Independent Schools Trust

Mr Anthony Harris

Anthony is a Chartered Surveyor and a Chair of the First-tier Tribunal (Property Chamber). He is currently the Chair of Governors at a Methodist school. Anthony is a Methodist and has wide experience of advising on Church and charity property matters.