Appointments, January 2017

APPOINTMENTS MADE ON BEHALF OF THE CONFERENCE

1. Conference Statement Task Group: Marriage and Relationships

Professor David Clough has unfortunately had to offer his resignation from the position of Chair of the task group appointed by the 2016 Conference to update the Statement of the judgment of the Conference on marriage and relationships and to oversee the process of consulting with the Methodist people on the definition of marriage.

Under their emergency powers, the President and Vice-President of the Conference appointed the Revd Kenneth G Howcroft to act as Chair of the task group. The Council is now asked to confirm the appointment.

The Revd Kenneth G Howcroft

A past President of the Conference, currently serving as a presbyter in the Birmingham Circuit. He served as Assistant Secretary of the Conference from 2004-2011 and prior to that in the former Formation in Ministry Office. He served as Connexional Ecumenical Officer from 2008-2011. He has served as a member of the Faith and Order Committee and his theological acumen is coupled with a comprehensive and practical knowledge of Methodism.

***RESOLUTION

22/1. The Council appoints, on behalf of the Conference, the Revd Kenneth G Howcroft to chair the task group appointed by the 2016 Conference to update the Statement of the judgment of the Conference on marriage and relationships and to oversee the process of consulting with the Methodist people on the definition of marriage.

COMMITTEES APPOINTED BY THE COUNCIL

2. All We Can (Methodist Relief and Development Fund) Trustees (SO 245)

Ms Louise Brooke-Smith (Chair), Dr Richard Vautrey (Vice Chair), Mrs Caroline Blower (Honorary Treasurer), Miss Diola Bijlhout, Miss Claire Boxall, <u>Ms Jane Briginshaw</u>, Ms Ria Delves, Dr Andrew Dye, <u>Ms Christy-Anna Errington</u>, <u>Mr Kit Lewis</u>, <u>Mr Robert Mahoney</u>. Link Person from the Irish World Development and Relief Committee but not a voting trustee: the Revd David Nixon

Link person from the Methodist Council: Mrs Carolyn Lawrence

***RESOLUTION

22/2. The Council, in accordance with its responsibilities under SO 245, appoints the following as trustees of All We Can:

Ms Jane Briginshaw, Ms Christy-Anna Errington, Mr Kit Lewis, Mr Robert Mahoney.

3. Equality, Diversity and Inclusion Committee (SO 336) (3) (a) (v)) ***RESOLUTION

22/3. The Council, in accordance with its responsibilities under SO 336, appoints the following as members of the Equality, Diversity and Inclusion Committee: The Revd Delyth Liddell, the Revd Jarel Robinson-Brown

4. Methodist Heritage Committee (SO 337(2)(a)(v)) ***RESOLUTION

- 22/4. The Council, in accordance with its responsibilities under SO 337, appoints the following as a member of the Methodist Heritage Committee: The Revd Dr Tim Woolley
- 5. Safeguarding Committee (SO 232 (1) (i)) ***RESOLUTION
 - 22/5. The Council, in accordance with its responsibilities under SO 232, appoints the following as a member of the Safeguarding Committee: Ms Gina Tagoe

REPRESENTATIVES TO OTHER BODIES

- 6. Fresh Expressions Board ***RESOLUTION
 - 22/6. The Council appoints the following as the Methodist representative on the Fresh Expressions Board: The Revd Steven J Wild
- 7. Joint Safeguarding Working Group ***RESOLUTION
 - 22/7. The Council appoints the following as Methodist representative on the Joint Safeguarding Working Group with the Church of England, to represent the south and south west region: Mr Kevin Maidment

8. Southlands Liaison Group ***RESOLUTION

- 22/8. The Council appoints the following as a member of Southlands Liaison Group:
 The Revd Dr Colin A Smith
- 8. Churches' Funerals Group ***RESOLUTION

22/9. The Council appoints the following as members of the Churches' Group: The Revd Susan Wigham, The Revd D Paul Wood

9. The Cathedrals Group

***RESOLUTION

22/10. The Council appoints the following as a member of the Cathedrals Group: The Revd Philip Richter

Reasoned Statements:

Ms Jane Briginshaw: Architect and partner in a London practice and former Head of Design and Sustainability for the Homes and Communities Agency, London. Experienced community leader and campaigner.

Ms Christy-Anna Errington: Currently a Sociology and Anthropology student at Bournemouth University. Former Chair of the Youth and Young Adult Committee for the World Methodist Council from 2011 – 2016 and prior to that was the Youth President for the Methodist Church in Great Britain. **Mr Kit Lewis**: A professional manager in fundraising development having spent the last decade in the charity sector and currently Head of Innovation Development at Save the Children.

The Revd Delyth Liddell: A university chaplain with knowledge, experience and skills in sexual orientation. She set up the 'Gathering' of 80-100 LGBT people, has been involved in Plaid Cymru largest LGBT group in Wales, has connections with Stonewall and has been involved with LGCM and LGBT Christian Ministry.

Mr Robert Mahoney: Retired in July 2016 after six years as Honorary Secretary of the Royal Institution of Chartered Surveyors following 25 years as a company director of a private consultancy. Currently attending a Methodist Church in Goring-By-Sea.

Mr Kevin Maidment: A former police officer and currently the District Safeguarding Officer for the Bristol District.

The Revd Philip Richter: Ministry Development Officer with responsibly for Higher Education Chaplaincy

The Revd Jarel Robinson-Brown: Currently stationed in the Cardiff Circuit, he has knowledge, experience and skills in the areas of race, sexual orientation and age.

The Revd Dr Colin A Smith: Currently serving as superintendent of the Cambridge Circuit. He has also served as a Deputy District Chair, as Synod Secretary and as District Policy Committee Secretary. He brings legal expertise and experience within school governance, together with his continuing links with academia through the Oxford Institute.

Ms Gina Tagoe: An active Probation Officer in the Thames Valley area, she sits on the Southampton District Safeguarding Group, and has a professional background in safeguarding.

The Revd Susan Wigham: Sue has experience in Circuit ministry and hospital Chaplaincy. She currently serves as a Superintendent in the Durham West Circuit

The Revd Steven J Wild: Ex-President of the Conference, Chair of the Cornwall District.

The Revd D Paul Wood: Coordinator, Ministry Development

The Revd Dr Tim Woolley: A presbyter currently serving in the Connexional Team. He brings expertise in Methodist history, Wesleyan theology and contemporary missiology, and experience in education and lifelong learning as a tutor and lecturer.