Community of Protestant Churches in Europe

Community of Protestant Churches in Europe (Leuenberg Fellowship)

The 1995 Methodist Conference agreed to be a signatory to the Leuenberg Agreement. There are seven Methodist churches in Europe who are signatories. The final text of this "Agreement between Reformation Churches in Europe" was made in March 1973, following a long process of dialogue mainly between Lutheran and Reformed churches Its adoption signified the ending of over 450 years of division between these churches. The signatory churches grant one another a pulpit and table fellowship and commit themselves to common witness and service on the basis of the Agreement. There are 105 churches in membership of the Community of Protestant Churches in Europe (CPCE). Its office is in Vienna. It is governed by a General Assembly, the last one being held in Budapest, September 2007.

One of the main features of the CPCE is the establishment of a number of doctrinal study groups.  Follow this link to find out about current and completed studies.

  • Sign up for e-newslettersKeep in touch with what interests you