15 November 2004

Methodist Church names leadership team of planned London Regional District

Ermal Kirby to be Lead Chair; Jenny Impey and Stuart Jordan to serve as Co-Chairs

The Methodist Church of Britain has named Rev Ermal Kirby as Lead Chair of the London Regional District that will come into existence on 1 September 2006. Rev Jenny Impey and Rev Stuart Jordan will serve as Co-Chairs. The new District will cover the areas currently served by the 33 boroughs in Greater London, and will consist of about 252 churches with 23,000 members, employing 169 ordained staff (as of July 2004).

Ermal is currently chair of the London North-East District, a post he has held since 1998. Prior to that he was a tutor the Queen's College and West Midlands Ministerial Training Course (1995-98), Co-ordinating Secretary for Public Affairs with the Council of Churches for Britain and Ireland (1990-95), Superintendent of the Birmingham Central Mission (1985-90) and a minister in the Birmingham (West) Circuit (1980-85).

Jenny has been Deputy Chair of the London South-West District since 2002. She has been a circuit minister in the Thames Valley Circuit (2002 to the present), the Wimbledon Circuit (1995-2002) and the Hemel Hempstead and Berkhamsted Circuit (1992-95). Stuart Jordan has served in the Connexional Team as Secretary of the London Committee since 1997. Before that Stuart was a minister and latterly superintendent in the London Mission (North West) Circuit (1987-97), chaplain to London University and Colleges while stationed in the West London Mission (1982-87), minister in the Manchester & Salford Mission (1976-81) and President's Assistant/Assistant Tutor at Wesley College, Bristol (1975-76).

The decision to create a single London Regional District, with a Lead Chair and two Co-Chairs, was taken at the 2004 Methodist Conference. There are currently four districts covering London and the South-East, but Conference agreed that London Methodism needs to be able to speak with one voice, and committed the Church to creating the new District by September 2006.

Back to All News

Share this