Southlands College – Oversight Committees

MC/23/75

Date of meeting	19-20 October 2023
Contact name and details	The Revd Dr Tim Macquiban, Chair of Southlands Liaison Group and Southlands Methodist Trust tmacquiban@gmail.com Dr Christopher Stephens, Head of Southlands College – christopher.stephens@roehampton.ac.uk
Action required	To approve a new member of the Southlands College oversight groups
Resolutions	75/1. The Council receives the report.75/2. The Council appoints the Southlands Liaison Group and the Southlands Methodist Trust as set out in the report.

Summary of content

Subject of aims	To seek approval for a nominee to the Southlands Liaison Group and Southlands Methodist Trust
Main points	Addition of one new member
Background context and relevant documents (with function)	Detailed information about the College, the University and its activities can be found at: www.roehampton.ac.uk/colleges/southlands-college www.southlandsmethodisttrust.org.uk www.susannawesleyfoundation.org.uk Further information can be requested by emailing the Southlands College office (southlands.college@roehampton.ac.uk). This includes: • Annual Reports from the University of Roehampton on the activities of Southlands College in respect of the lease with the Methodist Church • Annual Report of the Southlands Methodist Trust to the Charity Commission College-specific publications, including: Southlands College: The Methodist College of the University of Roehampton
Consultations	District Chairs' Meeting Connexional Team

1.0 The Committees

- 1.1 The Southlands Liaison Group (SLG) has responsibility for overseeing the activities of Southlands College as they relate to the governance arrangements between the Methodist Church and the University of Roehampton (of which Southlands is a constituent college), established by the Methodist Conference in 2010. The Southlands Methodist Trust (SMT) is a charity of the Methodist Church with charitable objects linked closely to the life of the college. These bodies report annually to the Methodist Council and the Charity Commission.
- 1.2 Membership of the two bodies overlaps significantly, although some members of the SLG are not trustees of the SMT. Included amongst these are some ex officio individuals, and the Connexional Team representative.
- 1.3 After the retirement of the Revd Michaela Youngson as the District Chair member of both groups, this paper proposes a new representative of the Chairs' Meeting, as indicated below.

2.0 Nominee and Short Supporting Statement

- 2.1 Members of the SLG and SMT unanimously propose that the Revd Dr Janet Corlett be appointed to both groups, with immediate effect.
- 2.2 Dr Corlett will act as the Chairs' Meeting representative on these bodies which, along with Connexional Team representation, brings wider connexional involvement in our work and enables collaboration across the Church's wider mission. Dr Corlett brings a significant record in Higher Education, including in Theology, and has experience in academic publishing, which will be of benefit to our learning and research engagement at the university. She has been in ministry since 1999, becoming Chair of the Isle of Man District in September 2021. She brings experience in several leadership roles, including as Vice-Moderator of the Commission for Mission and Evangelism of the World Council of Churches (2013-2022) and will be a member of the Commission of CWME, starting in 2023. She has worked in the Philippines, India, Zimbabwe, Rome and Honduras, which will enable her to support the work our groups do in engaging international students and international collaboration.

3.0 Resulting membership of the Southlands Liaison Group:

- The Revd Dr Tim Macquiban (Chair)
- The Revd Dr Jennifer Smith (Deputy Chair)
- The Revd Dr Stan Brown
- The Revd Dr Janet Corlett
- The Revd Dr Joanne Cox Darling
- Mr Alan Davies
- The Revd Dr Jonathan Dean (Connexional representative)
- Mrs Barbara Easton
- The Revd Nicola Morrison (College Chaplain, ex officio)
- Prof Sunitha Narendran (University Representative)
- Dr Clive Norris
- Dr Christopher Stephens (Head of College, ex officio)
- The College Student President and Wellbeing Officer are also in attendance.

4.0 Resulting membership of the Southlands Methodist Trust

- The Revd Dr Tim Macquiban (Chair)
- The Revd Dr Jennifer Smith (Deputy Chair)
- The Revd Dr Stan Brown
- The Revd Dr Janet Corlett
- The Revd Dr Joanne Cox Darling
- Mr Alan Davies

- Mrs Barbara Easton
- Dr Clive Norris
- The Head of College and the Revd Dr Jonathan Dean are in attendance

***RESOLUTIONS

- 75/1. The Council receives the report.
- 75/2. The Council appoints the Southlands Liaison Group and the Southlands Methodist Trust as set out in the report.