22. Methodist Schools

Contact name and details	Douglas Jones, Group Accountant and Company Secretary, Methodist Independent Schools Trust
	djones@methodistschools.org.uk

Summary of content

Subject and aims	Appointment of Methodist Independent Schools Trustees and governors to three Methodist Independent Associated Schools. Appointment of Methodist Academies and Schools Trustees.
Background context and relevant documents (with function)	The Conference is responsible for the appointment of Methodist Independent Schools Trustees and governors to the schools named in the resolutions. The Conference is responsible for the appointment of Methodist Academies and Schools Trustees.

Methodist Independent Schools Trust (MIST)

Appointment of Trustees to MIST and Governors to Associated Schools

Trustees of Methodist Independent Schools Trust are appointed by the Conference, normally for a three-year term. Nominations are made by the Trust, Chairs of Governors and the Methodist Council.

Under the Schemes relating to the administration of Ashville College, Kingswood School and Rydal Penrhos School, the Conference is responsible for the appointment of governors to their governing bodies. Governors are nominated by the governing bodies and/or the Methodist Independent Schools Trust and are initially appointed for a period of three years. They may be re-appointed for a further period.

***RESOLUTIONS

22/1. The Conference adopts the nomination by the Trustees of Dr Neil Tunnicliffe as a Trustee of the Methodist Independent Schools Trust for a period of three years concluding 31 August 2024.

- 22/2. The Conference adopts the nomination by the Methodist Council of the Revd Dr Jonathan H Pye as a Trustee of the Methodist Independent Schools Trust for a period of two years concluding 31 August 2023.
- 22/3. The Conference adopts the nomination by the Trustees of Mrs Lorna Cocking as a Trustee of the Methodist Independent Schools Trust for a period of three years concluding 31 August 2024.
- 22/4. The Conference adopts the nomination by the Trustees of Mr Richard Thomas as a Trustee of the Methodist Independent Schools Trust for a period of three years concluding 31 August 2024.

Ashville College

22/5. The Conference adopts the re-nominations by the Governors of Mr Jamie Search and Mr Tony Winfield and nomination of Mr Jonathan Oxley as Governors of Ashville College for a period of three years concluding 31 August 2024.

Kingswood School

22/6. The Conference adopts the nominations by the Governors of Mr Otty Warmann and Mrs Sarah Bond as Governors of Kingswood School for a period of four years concluding 31 August 2025.

Rydal Penrhos School

22/7. The Conference adopts the nominations by the Governors of Mr Matthew Gilman, Mrs Deborah McKinnel, Mr Brian Park and Mr Jeremy Salisbury as Governors of Rydal Penrhos School for a period of five years concluding 31 August 2026.

Reasoned Statements - MIST

The Revd Dr Jonathan H Pye

Dr Pye is Chair of the Bristol District of the Methodist Church and Honorary Bishop of JoonGang, South Korea. He is Honorary Research Fellow in the Centre for Ethics in Medicine / Senior Teaching Associate in Social and Community Medicine, University of Bristol. He has degrees in Theology and in Divinity from the University of Durham and a PhD from the University of Leeds. Prior to becoming Chair of the Bristol District, Dr Pye was Principal of Wesley College, Bristol, a recognised teacher in the University of Bristol and an external examiner for St. Mary's University, London. Dr Pye is a Governor of Kingswood School.

22. Methodist Schools

Mrs Lorna Cocking

Mrs Cocking is the Chair of Governors at Kent College in Canterbury and a trustee of the National Foundation for Educational Research (NFER). She has held a range of governance roles. She was Chair of the Council of the Girls' Day School Trust (one of the largest educational charities in the country) between 2007-14, and prior to that Chair of the board of governors of Middlesex University, where she is now Pro-Chancellor. She has been a board member of the British Educational Communication and Technology Authority, the Specialist Schools and Academies Trust and a member of the CBI Education and Training Council.

Mr Richard Thomas

Mr Thomas is a Chartered Building Surveyor, a qualified arbitrator, and the Chair of Governors for Truro School. Until its closure in 2019, he served as Vice Chair on Cornwall Sita Trust, who donated over £13m to community and heritage projects in the County funded by monies raised through Community Landfill Tax charges.

Reasoned Statement - Ashville College

Mr Jonathan Oxley

Mr Oxley is a corporate lawyer and Chair at the law firm Lupton Fawcett. He is a former regional Chair of the Institute of Directors (IoD) and a Trustee Director of Henshaws Society for Blind People.

Reasoned Statements - Kingswood School

Mr Otty Warmann

Mr Warmann is a former pupil of Kingswood, currently working as a musician. He is a former professional basketball player, teacher and project manager with experience in mentoring and pastoral care.

Mrs Sarah Bond

Mrs Bond is a Chartered Physiotherapist with experience in the co-ordination and delivery of clinical governance. She also volunteers in the charity sector.

Reasoned Statements - Rydal Penrhos School

Mr Jeremy Salisbury

Mr Salisbury is a qualified chartered accountant with over 30 years' experience running his own general practice. He has been a member of and chaired several governing and professional bodies, including CBi committees, a grant funded visual arts gallery and North Wales Business Club.

Mr Matthew Gilman

After spending seven years as a Management Accountant, Mr Gilman embarked on a career in Investment where he has spent most of the last 21 years as an Investment Director at several Private Client Investments firms and is a Fellow of the Chartered Institute for Securities and Investment.

Mr Brian Park

Mr Park is a former Foundation Governor of Richmond Methodist Primary School, North Yorkshire having previously been Chair of Governors at Archbishop Hutton's Primary School, Warton, Carnforth and for over five years was Treasurer of the Darlington Methodist District, bringing experience from all these roles.

Mrs Deborah McKinnel

Mrs McKinnel works for HM Courts and Tribunals as an appraiser, mentor, and recruiter. In her previous roles, she has managed HR matters, including employment tribunals. Mrs McKinnel is an active member of the school community.

Methodist Academies and Schools Trust (MAST)

Appointment of Trustees to MAST

***RESOLUTION

22/8. The Conference adopts the re-nomination by the Methodist Council of Dr Lorraine Earps as a Trustee of the Methodist Academies and Schools Trust for a period of three years concluding 31 August 2024.