## 47. Designations for Appointment of District Chairs

### \*\*\*RESOLUTIONS

- 47/1. The Conference designates for appointment the Revd Andrew de Ville as Chair for the Southampton District for a period of two years from 1 September 2020.
- 47/2. The Conference designates for appointment the Revd Dawn Saunders as Chair for the Channel Islands District for a period of six years from 1 September 2020.

The following resolutions require a majority of 75%.

- 47/3. The Conference designates for appointment the Revd Nigel Cowgill as Chair for the London District for a further period of four years from 1 September 2021.
- 47/4. The Conference designates for appointment the Revd Julian Pursehouse as Chair for the East Anglia District for a further period of four years from 1 September 2020.

### **Reasoned Statements**

### The Revd Andrew de Ville

In light of the need to make an appointment within a short period of time, and the expectation that a District seeking a new Chair shall undergo a review, together with the consideration in the Connexion of the number and structure of Districts, the nominations committee agreed not to seek a Chair for a six year term. Instead, the Deputy Chair, the Revd Andrew de Ville, met with the nomination committee and his name was brought to the Synod for appointment from March 2020 until August 2022. The President stationed him to serve from March 2020, and he is therefore now serving as Chair of the Southampton District.

Prior to that Presidential stationing, the Revd Andrew de Ville was Superintendent of the East Solent and Downs Circuit, a circuit whose formation he was instrumental in overseeing. He has previously served in Coventry and brings 18 years of experience in circuit ministry to this role. He has been a Deputy Chair since 2016. He offers the District a developed understanding of the office of a presbyter, considerable administrative and management skills, well-evidenced pastoral and supervisory gifts, and the capacity to embrace change. He has a thorough understanding of the life of the District and the work that has been accomplished by the District's Enabling Team, and a clear vision of how that work might continue.

The Synod recommends to the Conference that the Revd Andrew de Ville is appointed to serve as Chair for the Southampton District for a period of two years from 1 September 2020.

## 47. Designations for Appointment of District Chairs

### The Revd Dawn Saunders

Dawn Saunders is a presbyter in the Milton Keynes Circuit. She previously served in the Wharfedale and Aireborough and Mid-Warwickshire Circuits. She is a diligent pastor who has had experience of superintendency and of working ecumenically. She has also held district roles in relation to candidates, ministers in the first five years, and grants. She has a particular concern for the wellbeing of those in accredited ministry and is currently studying for a professional doctorate in that area.

Prior to candidating, Dawn worked in finance and then as a lay prison chaplain. She brings to her ministry and to her leisure gifts as a musician and as someone who can facilitate others working together to a common goal. The Synod commends her to the Conference.

The Synod recommends to the Conference that the Revd Dawn Saunders is appointed to serve as Chair for the Channel Islands District for a period of six years from 1 September 2020.

### The Revd Nigel Cowgill

Nigel Cowgill has been Chair of the London District since 2015. Since then, he has developed and matured in his style of ministry, becoming more assured in the role and more sensitive in his judgement. Nigel has adapted well to the team approach to leadership as it is established in the London District. He has worked hard to develop cooperative and empathetic relationships with Superintendents, presbyters and circuit stewards not only within the sector for which he has been primarily responsible, but also across the District as a whole. Superintendents know that if they turn to him for support there will be a ready and helpful response. Particular appreciation has been expressed for the care which he has manifested in his approach to stationing, and the sensitive way in which he has taken account of the needs of both ministers and Circuits. He is respected for his awareness of 'the bigger picture' in terms of the needs and requirements of the Connexion – both with regards not only to polity but also to process. He has tackled difficult situations with honesty and courage.

The Synod recommends to the Conference that the Revd Nigel Cowgill is appointed as Chair for the London District for a further period of four years from 1 September 2021.

### The Revd Julian Pursehouse

Julian Pursehouse has been Chair of the East Anglia District since 2014. The District appreciates his reflective, sensitive and prayerful leadership. He is a gifted pastor, preacher and leader, with a calm and gentle approach. He is friendly, approachable and a good listener who values those around him. Julian's leadership is inspirational. He has encouraged outreach and pioneering work and new initiatives such as Radical Hospitality, Re-imagine and Mission events bringing the District together in an open witness. Julian is promoting the continued work on the District Vision and Priorities and the District will

# 47. Designations for Appointment of District Chairs

benefit from Julian's continued ministry in this area. Julian's worship style is invigorating and inspiring, uplifting, engaging and meaningful, providing something to reflect on and to challenge with well thought out illustrations. His pastoral and wise support of circuits and ministers in stationing is greatly appreciated.

The Synod recommends to the Conference that the Revd Julian Pursehouse is appointed as Chair for the East Anglia District for a further period of four years from 1 September 2020.