# Minutes of a meeting of the Methodist Council held on 24 September 2021 via video conferencing

**Present:** The President and 42 voting members as follows:

Mrs Joanne Anderton, Mr Stephen Arnold, Mrs E Jill Baker (Chair), the Revd Karen Beecham, the Revd Paul H Booth, Mr Mark Braithwaite, Mr David Burton, the Revd Dr Joanne Cox-Darling, the Revd Simon C Edwards, Mr Carl Fairclough, Mr Bala Gnanapragasam, Mr Peter Gregson, Ms Charlotte Hambly, Ms Bet Holmes, the Revd Dr Jonathan R Hustler, the Revd Ermal Kirby, the Revd Helen R Kirk, the Revd Angela Long, Professor David Matthews, Mrs Val Mayers, Dr Daleep Mukarji, the Revd Leslie M Newton, Mr Keith Norman, Mrs Helen Norton, the Revd Nicholas A Oborski, Dr Hellen Okello, the Revd Michael D Parker, the Revd Malcolm Peacock, Mr Graham Russell, the Revd S Mark Slaney, Ms Sandie Smith, the Revd Rebekah Stennett, the Revd Kate Strange, the Revd O Mark Street, Mr Doug Swanney, the Revd Timothy A Swindell, Mrs Jenny Taylor, the Revd

Revd Michaela A Youngson.

**Apologies:** The Vice-President, Mr Anthony Boateng, the Revd Dr Adrian Burdon, the Revd Ruth G S

Fry, the Revd Jeremy H A Hackett, Mr Andrew Lowe, Deacon Karen McBride, Mr Joseph Lambert, Mrs Carolyn J Lawrence, Mr Alister McClure, the Revd Richard J Teal, the Revd Dr

Graham Thompson, the Revd Alison E Walker, Miss Margaret Webber, Ms Verity Wild, the

Jongikaya Zihle.

Substitutes: Mrs Christine Armstrong in place of Mr Andrew Lowe, Deacon Ruth Richey in place of

Deacon Karen McBride

**Observers:** Mr Daud Irfan (Youth President), Ms Jude Levermore (Head of Mission), the Revd Dr Nicola

Price-Tebbutt (Secretary of the Faith and Order Committee), Mr Matthew Tattersall

(Director of Finance and Resources)

In attendance: Ms Jane Bates (Minutes)

21.5.1 The Chair opened the meeting in prayer.

#### 21.5.2 Membership of the Council – South East District [MC/21/62]

The Secretary of the Conference presented MC/21/62.

62/1. The Council appointed the Revd Nicholas A Oborski as a member of the Council for the connexional year 2021/2022.

# 21.5.3 Methodist Church House [MC/21/63]

Alison Olugunna, Director of Strategic Property Development was welcomed to the Council for this item. The Connexional Secretary presented MC/21/63.

The Chair asked that the discussion and decision remain confidential for the time being.

### 21.5.4 Justice, Dignity and Solidarity Committee updates [MC/21/64]

The Revd Ermal Kirby presented MC/21/64.

- 64/1. The Council received the report.
- 64/2. The Council approved the composition of the scrutiny committee required by Notice of Motion 2020/103 as set out in paragraph 1.3 of this report.
- 64/3. The Council directed that the new Justice, Dignity and Solidary Committee should be chaired by two joint chairs, as set out in section 2 of this report.

# 21.5.5 Oversight and Trusteeship: Review of Districts [MC/21/65]

The Secretary of the Conference presented MC/21/65.

65/A. In accordance with Resolution 30/11 of the 2021 Conference, the Council confirmed the creation of a successor body to the District Review Monitoring Group, called the Task Group for Regional and District Structure Planning.

The Council resolved that a vote on resolution 65/1 be not put at this time, and asked that there be further work and consultation on the proposed terms of reference before they are brought back to the Council for approval.

- 65/2. The Council appointed the Revd Loraine Mellor as the Chair of the Task Group for Regional and District Structure Planning.
- 65/3. The Council agreed to appoint four lay members of the task group (two of whom should be Synod Secretaries) electronically before its meeting in October.

# 21.5.6 Authorisations and Delegations [MC/21/66]

The Conference Officer for Legal and Constitutional Practice presented MC/21/66.

- 66/1. The Council approved the updated list of authorisations and delegations with effect from 25 September 2021.
- 21.5.7 Pension and Assurance Scheme for Lay Employees of the Methodist Church [MC/21/67] The Director of Finance and Resources presented MC/21/67.
  - 67/1. The Council received the report.
  - 67/2. The Council approved that all members of the Pension and Assurance Scheme for Lay Employees of the Methodist Church should be eligible to apply to become a Member Nominated Director.
  - 67/3. The Council directed that, once appointed, a Member Nominated Director would only be required to stand down during their period of office if they transferred out of the Scheme.

Resolution 67/4 was not required in the light of resolution 67/2 having been approved.

The President closed the meeting with prayer.