COMMITTEES APPOINTED BY THE COUNCIL

***RESOLUTION

27/1. The Council appoints Deacon Myrtle Poxon to the Ministerial Candidates Appeal Committee under SO 326A, with immediate effect

Myrtle Poxon has a deep interest in enabling those called to ordained ministry to work out the nature of that call. She has experience of most of the steps in the candidating process and, having served the Church in many roles including as Vice-President, has wide general experience to offer to the work of the appeal committee.

***RESOLUTION

27/2. The Council appoints Deacon Flip Den Uil to the Ministerial Candidates and Probationers Oversight Committee under SO 321(1)(viii), with immediate effect

Deacon Flip Den Uil has spent ten years as a deacon in one of the poorest and most diverse areas of Liverpool. During his time as an active deacon he has accompanied student deacons who went on to become probationers and were later ordained. He has enjoyed being alongside them on their journey and feels he has much to offer candidates and probationers in terms of his life experience, his support and the knowledge of God's constant love.

***RESOLUTION

27/3. The Council appoints the Methodist Schools Committee as follows:

Chair	The Revd Dr Roger Walton
Appointed by MIST	The Revd Dr Calvin Samuel
	Mr Keith Norman
Appointed by MAST	Mr Steve Colledge
	The Revd Sally Ratcliffe
Appointed by Epworth Education Trust	Dr David Kershaw
	Mrs Elaine Cleland
Co-opted	Dr Christopher Stephens
Connexional Team Representative	The Revd Dr Jonathan Dean
In attendance	Mrs Barbara Easton
	Mrs Julie-Ann Hewitt
	Mr David Humphreys
	Mrs Olabisi Olayinka (Clerk)

APPOINTMENTS MADE ON BEHALF OF THE CONFERENCE

The Methodist Independent Schools Trust co-opted the Revd Dr Jonathan H Pye to its Trustees on 1 September 2020.

***RESOLUTION

27/4. Acting on behalf of the Conference, the Council appoints the Revd Dr Jonathan H Pye to the Trustees of the Methodist Independent Schools Trust under Standing Order 244 with immediate effect, for the remainder of the connexional year 2020/2021 and for two further years. **The Revd Dr Jonathan H Pye** is Chair of the Bristol District of the Methodist Church and Honorary Bishop of JoonGang, South Korea. He is Honorary Research Fellow at the Centre for Ethics in Medicine / Senior Teaching Associate in Social and Community Medicine, University of Bristol. He has degrees in Theology and in Divinity from the University of Durham and a PhD from the University of Leeds. Prior to becoming Chair of the Bristol District, Dr Pye was Principal of Wesley College, Bristol, a recognised teacher in the University of Bristol and an external examiner for St Mary's University, London. He is a Governor of Kingswood School.