## **Southlands College – Church Appointments**

The Revd Margaret Jones will be stepping down as Chair of the Southlands Liaison Group (the Church's oversight group for Southlands College) and Southlands Methodist Trust in August 2020, replaced in September by the Revd Dr Tim Macquiban. Both currently sit on the University of Roehampton's Council (its senior governing body) as nominees of the Methodist Church. Margaret's departure will create an absence of Church-nominated appointments to University Council.

The Southlands Liaison Group confirmed the desire to nominate the Revd Dr Jennifer Smith (Superintendent Minister at Wesley's Chapel) in Margaret's place. This nomination comes with support from the Connexional Team. The University has also signalled its enthusiasm to receive the nomination.

Nominations for University Council are made by the Methodist Council on the recommendation of the Liaison Group.

The Methodist Council would normally make this appointment at its October Meeting. However, with the need for the university then to execute its own governance processes, this means that Dr Smith's appointment would only be confirmed by Christmas, effectively leaving a four-month gap during which the Church would not have full representation on University Council. In order to avoid this extended period, the Liaison Group requests that the Methodist Council considers this appointment now, and formally nominates her also as one of the Church's appointments onto the University Council.

As a result of this appointment, the memberships would be:

## **Southlands Liaison Group**

- The Revd Margaret Jones, Chair and Member of University Council (until 31 August 2020)
- Ms Minaal Ali
- The Revd Dr Stan Brown
- The Revd Dr Joanne Cox-Darling
- The Revd Dr Jonathan Dean
- Mr John Logan
- The Revd Dr Tim Macquiban, Chair designate and Member of University Council
- The Revd Nicola Morrison
- Prof Sunitha Narendran
- Dr Clive Norris
- The Revd Colin Smith
- The Revd Dr Jennifer Smith, Nominee to University Council
- Dr Christopher Stephens
- The Revd Michaela Youngson

## **Southlands Methodist Trust**

- The Revd Margaret Jones, Chair (until 31 August 2020)
- The Revd Dr Stan Brown
- The Revd Dr J Cox-Darling
- Mr John Logan
- The Revd Dr Tim Macquiban
- Dr Clive Norris
- The Revd Colin Smith
- The Revd Dr Jennifer Smith
- The Revd Michaela Youngson

## \*\*\*RESOLUTION

77/1. The Council appoints the Southlands Liaison Group and the Southlands Methodist Trust as set out in the report.