Appointments, January 2020

COMMITTEES APPOINTED BY THE COUNCIL

***RESOLUTION

22/1. The Council appoints the Revd Dr Helen E Jenkins to the Authorisations Committee (SO 011).

Helen Jenkins is Synod Secretary for the Scotland District.

***RESOLUTION

22/2. The Council appoints the Revd Dr David H Mullins to the Presbyteral and Diaconal Reinstatements Panel (SO 761(4)).

David Mullins is the President's Governance Adviser in the Conference Office.

REPRESENTATIVES TO OTHER BODIES

***RESOLUTION

22/3. The Council appoints Dr R F Leão Neto as Co-Secretary to the Methodist-Anglican Panel for Mission in Unity.

Leão Neto is the Assistant Ecumenical Officer in the Connexional Team.

APPOINTMENTS MADE ON BEHALF OF THE CONFERENCE

***RESOLUTION

22/4. Acting on behalf of the Conference, the Council appoints Mr Michael Rickard as a member of the Audit Committee.

Michael Rickard is a qualified accountant with regulatory financial and operational experience, actively involved in the local church and with experience across a wide sector of charities across faith, school and sporting activities.

Small group to receive the reports of the Synods and the Law and Polity Committee concerning the Provisional Resolutions on Marriage and Relationships

The Conference directed the Secretary of the Conference to convene a group with representatives from the Law and Polity Committee, the Faith and Order Committee and the Marriage and Relationships Task Group to receive the reports of the Synods and the Law and Polity Committee and to prepare the report for the 2020 Conference with appropriate resolutions and including a statement of the ecumenical implications.

The Conference was informed that the group would be comprised as follows (Daily Record 8/52): The Secretary of the Conference Miss Elizabeth H Ovey (Law and Polity) Mrs Louise C Wilkins (Law and Polity) Mrs Susan R Howdle (Faith and Order) The Revd Dr Nicola V Price-Tebbutt (Faith and Order) The Revd Kenneth G Howcroft (Marriage and Relationships Task Group) The Revd Dr Roberta R Topham (Marriage and Relationships Task Group)

Noting the departure of Louise Wilkins from her role as Conference Officer for Legal and Constitutional Practice, and therefore the vacancy created on this group, the Council is asked to appoint the Revd Keith A Reed as a representative of the Law and Polity Committee in her place.

***RESOLUTION

22/5. The Council appoints the Revd Keith A Reed to the group established by resolution 10/11 of the 2019 Conference.

The Conference Business Committee

Two ministerial vacancies have arisen on the Conference Business Committee, one due to there being no nominations submitted at the Conference, and one due to an elected member of the Committee now not being able to serve on the Committee at the 2020 Conference. Under Standing Order 136(1C), the Council has the power to appoint members from amongst the members of the next Conference.

The Revd Sonia Hicks and Deacon Tracey Hume have agreed to serve on the Committee for 2020.

The chair of the Conference Business Committee is unable to attend the February meeting of the Committee and the Council is asked to note that the Revd Loraine Mellor, a recent past President of the Conference, will chair that meeting in his absence.

***RESOLUTION

- 22/6. The Council receives the report.
- 22/7. Under Standing Order 136(1C), the Council appoints the Revd Sonia M Hicks and Deacon Tracey J Hume to the Conference Business Committee for the 2020 Conference.