Southlands Liaison Group – Additional Members

Contact Name and Details	The Revd Margaret Jones, Chair of the Southlands Liaison Group
	Dr Christopher Stephens, Head of College
	Christopher.stephens@roehampton.ac.uk
Action Required	To approve the new membership of Southlands College oversight
	group
Methodist Council	Governance duties relating to associated institutions
objective that this paper	
supports	

Summary of Content

To communicate nominees for new members to the Southlands
Liaison Group, requiring appointment by the Council
Addition of two new members: one connexional nominee and one
nominee from the academic community of the college
Detailed information about the College, the University and its
activities can be found at:
www.roehampton.ac.uk
www.southlandsmethodisttrust.org.uk
www.susannawesleyfoundation.org.uk
Further information can be requested by emailing the Southlands
College office (<u>southlands.college@roehampton.ac.uk</u>). This includes:
 Annual Reports from the University of Roehampton on the
activities of Southlands College in respect of the lease with the
Methodist Church
 Annual Report of the Southlands Methodist Trust to the
Charity Commission
• College-specific publications, including: Southlands College:
The Methodist College of the University of Roehampton

Southlands Liaison Group – Additional Members

1.0 The Liaison Group

- 1.1 The Southlands Liaison Group has responsibility for overseeing the activities of Southlands College as they relate to the lease arrangements between the Methodist Church and the University of Roehampton (of which Southlands is a constituent college), established by the Conference in 2010.
- 1.2 Included amongst the membership of the Liaison Group are a nominated connexional representative and a nominated senior member of the academic community based at Southlands. This paper proposes changes to these nominees.

2.0 Reasons for Changes

- 2.1 In recent months the Connexional Team has proposed a change to their nominated person, reflecting their own staffing changes. At the same time the university academic nominee has retired.
- 2.2. The revised list below reflects these changes, removing Jude Levermore and Lourdes Melcion and replacing them with the new nominees.

3.0 Nominees

- 3.1 The Revd Dr Jonathan Dean is the Church's Director of Learning for Ministry. He holds responsibilities relating to scholarship and research, and is the designated contact for Methodist-related Higher Education institutions in Britain.
- 3.2 Prof Sunitha Narendran is Director of the university's Business School, which is the largest academic department based at Southlands College. She was appointed in September, having moved from a similar role in the University of East London. Her academic specialisms are: Organisational Behaviour, Decision Making, Individual Differences, Employee Engagement, Workplace Spirituality, Business Ethics, Corporate Social Responsibility.
- 4.0 Resulting membership of the Southlands Liaison Group:
 - The Revd Margaret Jones (Chair)
 - Ms Minaal Ali (student representative)
 - The Revd Stan Brown
 - The Revd Dr Joanne Cox Darling
 - The Revd Dr Jonathan Dean (Connexional representative)
 - Mr John Logan (local Circuit representative)
 - The Revd Dr Tim Macquiban
 - The Revd Nicola Morrison (College Chaplain)
 - Prof Sunitha Narendran
 - Dr Clive Norris
 - The Revd Colin Smith
 - Dr Christopher Stephens (Head of College)
 - The Revd Michaela Youngson

***RESOLUTIONS

25/1. The Council receives the report.

25/2. The Council appoints the Southlands Liaison Group as set out in the report.