Methodist Schools – Appointments for Methodist Independent Schools and the Wesley Trust

Contact Name and	John Weaving, Director of Finance and Company Secretary, Methodist
Details	Independent Schools Trust
	jweaving@methodistschools.org.uk
Status of Paper	Final
Resolution/s	The resolutions in the report enable the Methodist Council to:
	 nominate Trustees of Methodist Independent Schools Trust
	appoint Trustees of the Wesley Trust

Summary of Content

Subject and Aims	Appointment/nomination of MIST and Wesley Trust Trustees.
Main Points	As above
Background Context	Methodist Council is responsible for the nomination of five MIST Trustees.
and Relevant	Methodist Council is responsible for appointing the Wesley Trust Trustees.
Documents (with	
function)	

Nomination of Trustees to MIST and the Wesley Trust

Five Trustees of Methodist Independent Schools Trust are appointed by the Conference, normally for a three-year term. Nominations to the Methodist Council are made by the Trust.

Wesley Trust Trustees are appointed by the Methodist Council. Nominations to the Methodist Council are made by the Trust.

***RESOLUTIONS

Methodist Independent Schools Trust

65/1. The Methodist Council adopts the nomination by the MIST Trustees of the Revd Stephen Burgess for a period of two years concluding 31 August 2020.

The Wesley Trust

65/2. The Methodist Council adopts the re-nomination by the Wesley Trust Trustees of Mrs Elaine Cleland, Mrs Heather Wheelhouse, Mrs Barbara Easton, Mr Tony Harris, Mr Thomas Cadman and Mr David Kershaw for a period of three years concluding 31 August 2021.

Reasoned Statements

Methodist Independent Schools Trust

The Revd Stephen Burgess

Supernumerary presbyter, previously Chair of the York and Hull District and former Superintendent Minister of the Cambridge circuit. Involvement in school chaplaincy for over 20 years.