Methodist Lay Employees Pension Trust Limited (MLEPTL) Directors

Contact Name and Details	Meena Tooray – Pensions Manager tooraym@methodistchurch.org.uk
Status of Paper	Final
Action Required	Decision
Draft Resolutions	As contained in paper

Summary of Content

Subject and Aims	Appointment and re-appointment of the Trustee Directors of the
	Pension and Life Assurance Scheme for Lay Employees of the
	Methodist Church (PASLEMC)
Main Points	The Methodist Council appoints 5 Directors of MLEPTL.
Background Context and	The four Council directors who have not been formally appointed also
Relevant Documents	sit on the Board of the Methodist Ministers Pensions Trustee Limited
	(MMPTL).

- 1. Under its Articles, 5 directors of MLEPTL are to be nominated by the Methodist Council, such directors being appointed for terms of office of 3 years (unless stated to be for a shorter period).
- 2. The current Methodist Council appointed directors are:

Mr Colin Pearson

Mr Graham Danbury

Mr Ron Calver

Mr Andrew Paul

Capital Cranfield Pension Trustees Limited, represented by Ms Ingrid Kirby

- 3. There appears to be no record of:
 - Mr Andrew Paul or Capital Cranfield Pension Trustees Limited, represented by Ms Ingrid Kirby, being appointed by the Methodist Council
- 4. Mr Andrew Paul and Capital Cranfield Pension Trustees Limited, represented by Ms Ingrid Kirby have acted as directors since 1 September 2016 and the Methodist Council is asked to deem them, for all purposes as if they had been appointed as directors of MLETPL for a period of three years from 1 September 2016.
- 5. For information, the 2016 Conference appointed Mr Andrew Paul and Ms Ingrid Kirby to the Board of the Methodist Ministers Pension Trust Limited.

***RESOLUTION

109/1. The Council confirms that Mr Andrew Paul and Capital Cranfield Pension Trustees Limited, represented by Ms Ingrid Kirby, have been appointed as directors of MLETPL for a period of three years from 1 September 2016.

Member nominated directors to Methodist Lay Employees Pension Trust Limited (MLEPTL)

- An election for the appointment of a Member Nominated Director of MLEPTL by the active
 membership of the Scheme to take office on 1 September 2017 took place for the post held by
 Mr David Friswell who was co-opted to serve as a director of MLEPTL for a term of one year
 from 1 September 2016. Mr David Friswell was elected by the active membership to serve as a
 director for a term of three years from 1 September 2017.
- An election for the appointment of a Member Nominated Director of the MLEPTL by the
 pensioner membership of the Scheme to take office on 1 September 2017 took place for the
 post held by Mr Nigel Wrighton who will be resigning from the Board on 31 August 2017. Mr
 William Seddon was elected by the pensioner membership to serve as a director for a term of
 three years from 1 September 2017.

***RESOLUTION

109/2. The Council notes that Mr David Friswell and Mr William Seddon were elected by the membership to serve as directors for a term of three years from 1 September 2017.