Committee Appointments

(1) Connexional Allowances Committee (CAC)

Nomination of new members

At the moment, the CAC has 8 members and a vacancy for one lay person, as per SO 212(4). Mrs Carole Booth is standing down at the end of August 2015, having served for seven years, and also Dr Roy Swanston, having served for rather longer.

The following nominations are brought, with reasoned statements, to serve as from September 2015.

Mrs Suzie Long

A member in the New River Circuit in the London District, Suzie Long is married to a minister. She is currently Head of HR for the University of West London.

Ms Janet Arthur

Janet Arthur is a Circuit Steward, a member of the London District Candidates Committee and currently Chair of the London District Human Resources Group. She currently works as an HR Consultant specialising in Employee Relations, Recruitment and Selection and Organisational Development.

Mr John Monkhouse

John Monkhouse is a local Church Treasurer, an active lay member in the Stockton Circuit and Darlington District, and, as Chartered Accountant, Finance Director of a major company. He will bring much needed finance and accounting expertise to the Committee.

***RESOLUTION

66/1. The Council appoints Mrs Suzie Long, Ms Janet Arthur and Mr John Monkhouse to the Connexional Allowances Committee, with effect from 1 September 2015.

(2) Methodist Heritage Committee

The Council is asked to appoint Mrs Alison Butler to the Methodist Heritage Committee under head (v) of SO 337(2)(a), to be recognised as 'Liaison Officer for Methodist Historic Objects'. (This advisory role was previously outlined to the Council in paper MC/14/40, which proposed a Collections Policy for historic artefacts.)

Mrs Alison Butler

Now a member of its Leadership Team, Alison Butler was Chair of the Mission Group that created a unifying vision for the newly-formed City of Edinburgh Methodist Church. With a professional background at the National Trust for Scotland, her experience includes creating heritage displays, training volunteers and welcoming visitors.

***RESOLUTION

66/2. The Council appoints Mrs Alison Butler to the Methodist Heritage Committee.

(3) Representatives to ecumenical and other bodies

***RESOLUTIONS

- 66/3. The Council appoints representatives to ecumenical and other bodies with effect from 1 September 2015 as follows:
- 66/4. The Council appoints the Revd Marian J Jones to the British Methodist-Roman Catholic Dialogue Commission with immediate effect.

Methodist members of the Methodist-Anglican Panel for Mission in Unity: The Revds John Hellyer (Co-Chair), Graham R Kent, Neil A Stubbens; Deacon <u>Stephen F Roe</u>; Mrs Jenny Easson, Mr David J Phillips, Mrs Heather Shipman

Methodist members of the Methodist-United Reformed Church Liaison Group: The Revds Richard Teal (Co-Chair), <u>Christopher Collins</u>, Kavula J John, Neil A Stubbens; Mr Dudley Coates

Methodist members of the British Methodist-Roman Catholic Dialogue Commission: The Revds Dr Neil G Richardson (Co-Chair), Dr David M Chapman (Co-Secretary), <u>Marian J Jones</u>, Dr Timothy Macquiban, <u>Ian S Rutherford</u>, Neil A Stubbens, Peter G Sulston, Dr Stephen D Wigley; Mr David Bradwell

Ecumenical Stakeholders' Forum (in addition to the ex-officio members): Sister Eluned Williams (Chair), Mr Roy Crowder, Mr Mike King; The Revds Dr David P Easton, Dr Ian D Morris, Richard Teal, Dr Stephen D Wigley

Methodist Representative to the General Synod of the Church of England (July 2013 – February 2016):

The Revd Dr Roger L Walton

Methodist Representative to the United Reformed Church General Assembly (2016): The Revd Dr Keith Davies

The Commission of the Covenanted Churches in Wales: The Revds Catherine Gale, <u>Jennifer A Hurd</u>, Delyth A Liddell

The Free Churches Group:

The Revds John Howard, Neil A Stubbens

Churches' Legislation Advisory Service:

The Revd Gareth J Powell; Mrs Louise Wilkins

Women's World Day of Prayer National Committee for England, Wales and Northern Ireland Dr Elizabeth Burroughs

Reasoned statements:

Christopher Collins Worshipped in Methodist-URC LEP for 12 years; attended URC General

Assembly in 2010; Chair of Penn Ecumenical Council; encourages practice of

receptive ecumenism

Jennifer A Hurd Chair of Synod Cymru

Marian J Jones Long standing interest in ecumenical matters/activity; experience

of working in LEP including a Roman Catholic Church

Stephen F Roe Stationed in the Cymru Circuit; former Co-ordinating Chaplain of

an interdenominational and multifaith Team at Bangor University;

former Chair of Churches Together in Holyhead

Ian S Rutherford Has enjoyed close working relationships with Roman Catholic

colleagues in Gateshead, Durham, and Doncaster; appreciation of

Catholic Social Teaching.

(4) One Mission Forum

***RESOLUTION

66/5. The Council appoints the Reverend Kenneth G Howcroft to chair the One Mission Forum for a period of six years from September 2015 under Standing Order 1001(2)(b).

Kenneth G Howcroft is President of the Conference for 2014-15.