Ministries

We believe that each person has a calling: a calling from God to follow Christ and a calling to serve in the Church and in the world. In this calling and serving we live life in all its fullness.  The ministries team is here to enable each person in their discernment and service. We look forward to working with you.

Paul Wood, Interim Director of the Ministries Team

The ministries team exists to equip the Methodist Church by training, developing and supporting those called by God to serve in lay and ordained ministry.

Our work:

  • to oversee the processes of vocational discernment and training for lay and ordained ministries
  • to celebrate the vocational call and ensure our processes are enabling all ministries
  • to equip those in ministry to witness to the transformative power of the gospel
  • to resource, support and encourage ongoing theological reflection and ministry development
  • to develop the worshipping life of the Methodist Church as a response to Our Calling

 

Called to Ordained Ministry?
Candidating for Ministry
Chaplaincy
Competencies for Ministry
Continuing Development in Ministry
Conversations on Ministry during Covid and beyond 
Deacons
Education
Flexible Working for Ministers
Local Preachers
LPWL E-News
Mental Health and Wellbeing for Ministers
Ministerial Covenant (Draft)
Ministerial Development Review (MDR)
Ministers of other Churches [and Conferences]
Ministry Reports
Probationers
Retirement
Sabbaticals
Stationing
Superintendents
Supernumerary Ministers
Supervision
Worship Leaders
Worship: Leading & Preaching
Vocations

Meet the Team

The Revd Dr Andrew Wood, Head of Ministries
Andrew is currently not available due to long-term sickness – please refer to the Interim Director of the Ministries Team

 

The Revd Paul Wood, Interim Director of the Ministries Team
woodp@methodistchurch.org.uk

 

  • Oversight of the Team
  • Continuing Development in Ministry
  • Superintendents’ Induction and Conferences
  • Chairs’ Induction
  • Ministerial Covenant (Code of Conduct)
  • Sabbaticals
  • Ministerial Wellbeing

 
The Revd Dr Jonathan Dean, Director of Learning for Ministry
deanj@methodistchurch.org.uk

  • Methodist-Related Higher Education Institutions
  • Higher Education Awards
  • Research and Scholarship
  • Methodist Schools Link
  • Apprenticeship Levy


The Revd Dr Claire Potter
, Ministerial Co-ordinator for Oversight of Ordained Ministries
potterc@methodistchurch.org.uk

 

  • Ordinations
  • Candidates’ Support
  • Initial Stationing
  • DPS Training
  • Ministerial Candidates and Probationers Oversight Committee (MCPOC)
  • Ministers of Other Churches and Conferences (MOCC)/Recognized and Regarded Oversight
  • Stationing Matching Group (SMG)

 
Bob Bartindale, Officer for Worship and Local Preachers
bartindaleb@methodistchurch.org.uk

  • Local Preachers
  • Worship Leaders
  • Bible Month
  • Worship: Leading & Preaching Course
  • Faith & Worship Course

 
Alison Ransome, Vocations Advisor
ransomea@methodistchurch.org.uk

 

  • Vocations Strategy
  • Vocational Exploration Materials
  • 28-30 Years in Ministry Retreat
  • Ministry Development Projects

 
Gary Hopkins, Ministry Development Officer
hopkinsg@methodistchurch.org.uk

  • Chaplaincy
  • Lay Ministries
  • Circuit and Church Stewards
  • Local Lay Leadership

 
Jane Bingham, Ministry Development Officer
binghamj@methodistchurch.org.uk

  • Supervision
  • Ministerial Development Review (MDR)
  • Ministers' Conversation and Reflection Spaces - Including Years 4 and 5 and Mid-Ministry
  • Retirement


Christine Dutton, 
Officer & Tutor in Evangelism & Leadership
duttonc@methodistchurch.org.uk

  • Evangelism and Leadership in Ministry


Kim Osborne, Senior Administrator
osbornek@methodistchurch.org.uk

  • Stationing
  • Student Bursaries
  • Allocations
  • Chaplaincy
  • Forces Board
  • Ministerial Candidates and Probationers Oversight Committee (MCPOC)
  • Stationing Matching Group
  • Ministers of Other Churches and Conferences (MOCC) Stationing

 
Alice Arbon, Administrator
arbona@methodistchurch.org.uk

 

  • Candidates' Support
  • Local Preachers

Alizé Kocadag, Administrator
kocadaga@methodistchurch.org.uk

 
Gabriella Mahadeva, Administrator
mahadevag@methodistchurch.org.uk

 

  • Retirement Courses
  • Recharge
  • Ministers of Other Churches and Conferences (MOCC) Year
  • First Moves in Ministry
  • Ordination Exploration Days
  • Superintendents (Conferences and Inductions)

 
Sydney McMichael, Administrator
mcmichaels@methodistchurch.org.uk

 

  • Supervision
  • Ministries Committee Manses Group

 

Share this

Next